Punjab Meeting session to elect new chief minister set to start shortly – No Confidence

Punjab Meeting is all set to vote right this moment to elect the brand new chief of the home, with PML-Q’s PTI-backed Chaudhry Parvez Elahi and PML-N’s Hamza Shehbaz, who has the assist of Jahangir Khan Tarin (JKT) group, to go face to face within the race to change into the following chief minister.

Lawmakers are at present arriving on the Punjab Meeting for the session that was scheduled to renew at 11:30am right this moment — the identical time when the Nationwide Meeting session to vote on a no-confidence movement in opposition to Prime Minister Imran Khan started.

Forward of the session, journalists discovered the press gallery of the meeting locked, barring them from protecting the proceedings.

The federal authorities, in a shock transfer, eliminated Punjab Governor Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar from his publish hours earlier than the session of the provincial meeting. He was later changed by Omar Sarfraz Cheema, PTI’s former data secretary.

The highest ministerial slot of the biggest province fell vacant with the acceptance of Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar’s resignation by Governor Chaudhry Mohammad Sarwar on Friday.

The Punjab authorities had de-notified CM Buzdar after the acceptance of his resignation however in the identical notification allowed him “to proceed to carry workplace till his successor enters upon the workplace”. In an array of notifications, the provincial authorities had additionally denotified all of the 37 provincial ministers, 5 advisers to the chief minister and 5 particular assistants to the chief minister.

Buzdar had offered his resignation to Prime Minister Imran Khan on March 28 after a delegation of senior lawmakers had submitted a no-trust movement in opposition to him with Punjab Meeting Secretary Muhammad Khan Bhatti on the identical day.

Following Buzdar’s resignation, the PTI had introduced the PML-Q’s Chaudhry Pervez Elahi as its candidate for Punjab’s chief minister. The transfer had come because the ruling social gathering had stepped up efforts to make sure the assist of its allies forward of a no-trust vote in opposition to the premier, in opposition to the backdrop of a number of PTI allies becoming a member of the opposition. The PML-Q, which is an important ally of the PTI authorities in Punjab and Centre, with 10 and 5 seats, respectively, had later confirmed its assist for the ruling social gathering.

Following PTI’s announcement, PML-N finalised the identify of Hamza Shehbaz for the CM’s publish after approval by social gathering supremo Nawaz Sharif.

To be elected as chief minister, a candidate will want a minimum of 186 votes within the 371-member home. Within the Punjab Meeting, the PTI has 183 lawmakers, PML-Q 10, PML-N 165, PPP seven, 5 are unbiased and one belongs to Rah-i-Haq.

Decisive issue

The decisive consider right this moment’s vote is the assist of Jahangir Tareen group, a bloc of round 16 disgruntled PTI lawmakers.

Members of the Jahangir Tareen group ‘pulled a quick one’ on the PML-Q yesterday when, after late-night negotiations with the Elahis, they selected to throw their weight behind the opposition camp.

This prompted hectic exercise within the Parvez Elahi-led ruling bloc.

PML-Q leaders led by Moonis Elahi had remained in conferences with members of the Jahangir Tareen group till round 2.30am on Saturday to iron out the phrases of their provide.

Nevertheless, a tweet by former finance minister Ishaq Dar within the wee hours modified the entire situation. “Had fruitful closing spherical of debate with Jahangir Khan Tareen and it was agreed that the Tareen group would assist joint opposition’s candidate Hamza Shehbaz Sharif for the slot of chief minister,” Dar tweeted.

Speaking to Daybreak, Moonis Elahi mentioned former Punjab minister Nauman Langrial had dedicated late within the evening that 12 out of 17 members gave their consent to vote for Parvez Elahi. Langrial additionally dedicated that he would persuade the remaining 5 members,” mentioned Moonis Elahi whereas speaking to Daybreak.

Moonis mentioned he had personally contacted three Tareen group members and received their assist, which was later publically introduced. The three members — Abdul Hayee Dasti, Rafaqat Ali Gillani and Ameer Mohammad Khan — additionally met Parvez Elahi at his Punjab Meeting chamber.

Whereas PTI dissident and former senior minister Aleem Khan additionally confirmed the power of 9 MPAs to PML-N’s CM candidate Hamza Shehbaz who visited the ex-minister at his workplace on Saturday, Elahi claimed a few of them would categorical their specific assist for him.

However on Sunday, three lawmakers of the Aleem Khan group — Ashraf Rind, Aun Dogar and Mian Alamdar Qureshi — have been seen getting into the Punjab Meeting with Moonis Elahi.

The legislators introduced to assist the PML-Q within the Punjab Meeting right this moment after their assembly with Moonis earlier within the day. Speaking to a reporter, Qureshi mentioned he was part of the PTI and he would vote for Elahi.

Rind additionally voiced his assist for the PTI, saying he was related to the social gathering since 2010. “Now we have a private relationship with Aleem Khan and we don’t deny it. However our ties with the PTI and Chaudhrys are deep and we’ll assist them.”

Moonis mentioned the PML-Q management was already involved with many MPAs belonging to the PML-N and hoped that the treasury would present greater than the required 186 numbers on the voting day on Sunday (right this moment).

Additionally, Prime Minister Imran Khan in a tweet requested all PTI lawmakers in Punjab to vote for PML-Q chief Parvez Elahi within the Punjab CM’s election on Sunday. “Any PTI MPA going in opposition to social gathering route, together with abstaining from vote, will probably be disqualified and face strict disciplinary motion,” Mr Khan warned.

Nevertheless, on Saturday, Punjab MPA Nauman Langrial formally introduced that the Jahangir Khan Tareen (JKT) group would assist the PML-N scion for the Punjab chief ministry.

He mentioned the group — which contains PTI dissidents — made its determination primarily based on “honesty, sincerity and for the nation’s sake”, including that the group hoped Hamza would serve the province nicely.

In reply to a query, Langrial had mentioned that there was no “deal” behind the Tareen group’s determination to assist Hamza.

Hamza had thanked the Tareen group for exhibiting confidence in his management in addition to that of Shehbaz Sharif and Nawaz Sharif. He had vowed to steer the province in the direction of the “path of progress, the place [erstwhile CM] Shehbaz Sharif had left it” earlier than the PTI’s tenure.

Supply hyperlink

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this: